Organization – Assistant Deputy Minister (Review Services)

Internal Audit

The Assistant Deputy Minister (Review Services) internal audit function provides the Deputy Minister (DM) and the Chief of the Defence Staff (CDS) with independent, substantiated assessments and advice related to the effectiveness and efficiency of Department of National Defence/Canadian Armed Forces (DND/CAF) operations/programs/activities; compliance with legislation, policies and procedures; and the soundness of DND/CAF risk management, internal controls and governance processes.

Evaluation

The ADM(RS) program evaluation function provides the DM and the CDS with independent, objective, substantiated assessments of the effectiveness, impact and continued relevance of DND/CAF policies, programs and initiatives. The results of Evaluation are used by the DND/CAF management to help determine the priorities of funding and to direct improvements to policies, programs, and initiatives.

Special Examinations and Inquiries

The mandate of the Directorate Special Examinations and Inquiries (DSEI) is to plan and conduct special examinations and inquiries into allegations or instances of impropriety, mismanagement or other irregularities in DND/CAF. In addition to conducting special examinations and inquiries, DSEI manages the Internal Disclosure Office , the Administrative Investigation Support Centre , and the DND/CAF Fraud Risk Management Program.

Defence Ethics Programme

The Defence Ethics Programme (DEP) is a comprehensive values-based ethics program put in place to meet the needs of the DND/CAF, at both the individual and the organizational levels.

The aim and primary focus of the DEP is to foster the practice of ethics in the workplace and in operations such that members of the CAF and employees of the DND will consistently perform their duties to the highest ethical standards.

Office of the Auditor General Liaison

ADM(RS) is the Office of the Auditor General's (OAG) and Commissioner of the Environment and Sustainable Development formal point of contact within DND for the purposes of coordination and ongoing liaison. The OAG notifies ADM(RS) of all new audits and examinations involving DND and keeps ADM(RS) informed about their activities within the Department. In turn, ADM(RS) keeps senior management informed by monitoring the progress of each audit.

Organisation du Chef – Service d'examen et Sous-ministre adjoint (Services d'examen)

Audit interne

La fonction d'audit interne du Sous-ministre adjoint (Services d’examen) fournit au Sous-ministre (SM) et au Chef d'état-major de la Défense (CEMD) des appréciations et conseils indépendants corroborés sur l'efficacité et l'efficience des opérations, programmes et activités du ministère de la Défense nationale (MDN) et des Forces armées canadiennes (FAC); la conformité aux lois, politiques et procédures; et la pertinence des méthodes de gestion du risque, de contrôles internes et de gouvernance du MDN et des FAC.

Évaluation

La fonction du SMA(Svcs Ex) relative à l'évaluation des programmes fournit au SM et au CEMD des évaluations et conseils indépendants corroborés sur l'efficacité, l'incidence et la pertinence continue des politiques, programmes et initiatives du MDN et des FAC. La direction du MDN et des FAC se sert des résultats des évaluations pour l'aider à déterminer les priorités en matière de financement et les améliorations à apporter aux politiques, programmes et initiatives.

Enquêtes et examens spéciaux

La Direction – Enquêtes et examens spéciaux (DEES) a pour mandat de planifier et mener des enquêtes et examens spéciaux sur les allégations ou cas de pratiques répréhensibles, de mauvaise gestion ou d'autres irrégularités au sein du MDN et des FAC. Outre la tenue d'enquêtes et examens spéciaux, la DEES gère le Bureau de la divulgation interne, le Centre de soutien aux enquêtes administratives et le Programme de gestion des risques de fraude du MDN et des FAC.

Programme d'éthique de la Défense

Le Programme d'éthique de la Défense (PED) est un programme d'éthique global reposant sur un système de valeurs qui a été mis en place pour répondre aux besoins du MDN et des FAC, tant au niveau individuel qu'au niveau organisationnel.

L'objectif du PED vise essentiellement à favoriser l'éthique en milieu de travail et dans les opérations, de façon à ce que les membres des FAC et les employés du MDN remplissent systématiquement leurs fonctions en respectant les normes d'éthique les plus élevées.

Liaison avec le Bureau du vérificateur général

Le SMA(Svcs Ex) est le point de contact officiel avec le Bureau du vérificateur général (BVG) et le Commissaire à l'environnement et au développement durable au sein du MDN à des fins de coordination et de liaison permanente. Le BVG avise le SMA(Svcs Ex) de tous les nouveaux audits et examens touchant le MDN et tient le SMA(Svcs Ex) au courant de ses activités au sein du Ministère. Pour sa part, le SMA(Svcs Ex) surveille l'évolution de chaque audit et en informe la haute direction.